Posted by: blueisthenewpink | Nov 1, 2016

Let’s read… and fall in love with elephants

elephant-279505_1920

Lawrence Anthony – Graham Spence: The Elephant Whisperer (Sidgwick & Jackson, 2009)

A few years ago I hadn’t understood why everyone had been so obsessed with dolphins, then I read The Day of the Dolphin by Robert Merle. By the time I had a chance to meet and touch a dolphin, I was deeply moved and humbled by the encounter.

This book was recommended to me by a few readers and has great ratings on Hungarian goodreads, but I was still a bit wary because I had my phase of animal mania in primary school and don’t consider myself an animal enthusiast now, though I do like them (the animals). This time, I didn’t understand why everyone was so obsessed with elephants. And then I have read The Elephant Whisperer. I honestly don’t remember the last time a book touched my heart so deeply. It is very well written, extremely exciting, powerful and emotional. A work of fiction couldn’t have been more engaging.

[Spoiler alert! Don’t continue if you haven’t read the book and want to! You should.]

First, I couldn’t see why Lawrence Anthony was fighting so hard for this herd but he reached me, too, on the way. Sometimes I still felt it was exhausting, fighting a new problem every minute but now I knew it was worth it. It was astonishing to learn about the intelligence, empathy and extraordinary ways of communications of these creatures. I loved the moving moments, too. They were very welcome intervals among the dangers and challenges the team had to face. I soon began to refer to reading to book as going to see my elephants. Still I thought I will escape when I was ‘only’ saddened by the death of the baby elephant. But these things always come in threes, right? With Max, I couldn’t stop my tears and the death of Mnumzane broke my heart into a million pieces. I think they will stay with me long after I finished the book.

The ending seemed to be a bit hasty, quickly mentioning events that make up an entire other book (maybe I should read that, too). I will also miss the extraordinary humans of this story. They prove that there are real life characters showing courage, loyalty and love; characters that seem to be so idealistic in fiction (and often criticized for that). This great book restored my faith in humanity and opened my heart again to animals. No, I won’t say they are better than humans. But I did gather the caterpillar from the pavement and put it back among the leaves the other day.

You can join them at their non-profit organization: http://www.earthorganization.org/


Responses

  1. […] The Elephant Whisperer! It is not even fiction, maybe that’s why it is so perfect. I’m not an animal enthusiast but I do like them (the animals). I honestly don’t remember the last time a book touched my heart so deeply. It is very well written, extremely exciting, powerful and emotional. A work of fiction couldn’t have been more engaging. […]

    Like

  2. […] Lawrence Anthony – Graham Spence: The Elephant Whisperer […]

    Like


Leave a comment

Categories

Whatever

TIME TO REGISTER TO VOTE

gyerekkönyvölelő

gyermekirodalmi blogoldal

About Words - Cambridge Dictionary blog

Commenting on developments in the English language

intentionally_blonde

on discovering the world and sharing her best tips with you

hitchhikingthe7seas

Hitchhiking sailing boats around the world. Live bog! -- Hajóstoppal egy föld körüli úton. Élő blog!

Exploding Steamboats

The Official Chris Pontius Blog

MűvészTér

Művésztér Egyesület honlapja

International Book Giving Day 2024

#bookgivingday 14th February 2024

kultúrlény

Kultúra minden mennyiségben

The Official Colonel Sanders Podcast

It's blue. But that's okay, it's the new pink. No worries.

Olvass bele

A KULTÚRAKIRAKAT

Brent Libraries Blog

Welcome to the Brent Libraries Blog. Here you can read book reviews, find out about Brent reading group and events and much much more!

bookowly

bookowly

AnitaKomuves

International reporting, data journalism, digital media

Bébi, pszichó & más

Életképek, ötletek, megfigyelések

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...