Posted by: bluelion | November 29, 2016

Coffee Book Tag

books-1003023_1920

I’m back, with a tag! (Hungarian version here) I was invited to do this tag by Boglárka_Madar … khm… some time ago, but better late than never, right? Originally by BangadyBangz, here goes my take on the Coffee Book Tag:

1. Black: Name a series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

I don’t really read series but when I do, they’re not tough to get into. (I read the Hitchhiker’s Guide Trilogy and Gasperini’s family chronicles and that is probably it.) I know Harry Potter, The Lord of the Rings and A Song of Ice and Fire has hardcore fans but I never even attempted to read them.

2. Peppermint mocha: Name a book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year.

Well, anything Christmassy, I guess. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, definitely. I usually just read what’s new or what’s available at the library, recently recommended to me or at the top of my to-be-read list. I ordered two Christmas themed children’s books though, with several short stories, poems, and even recipes to be used in the advent calendar instead of chocolate and whatnot. (They are: Adventi népmesék és legendák – 24 ünnepváró történet a világ minden tájáról and the Christmas edition of Liane Schneider’s Conni-books: Karácsonyi nagy Bori-könyv.)

3. Hot chocolate: What is your favorite children’s book?

I really can’t choose just one. Believe me, I tried. My first favourite read (as far as I can remember) was A két Lotti (Das doppelte Lottchen / Lottie and Lisa) by Erich Kästner. I really wished I had a twin around that time, I even wrote a very very short story about it at around age 8. I love some other books that are probably more suitable for bigger children and adults: A kis herceg (Le Petit Prince / The Little Prince) by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll (actually, I think I want to re-read this one now), and I still love Winnie the Pooh, it has a fantastic Hungarian translation by Frigyes Karinthy.

In today’s children’s books, I love the work of András Dániel, Julia Donaldson and Jill Tomlinson. My favourites from these authors are Smorc Angéla nem akar legóba lépni (and the kuflis, too), Monkey Puzzle (also The Snail and the Whale), and The Cat Who Wanted to Go Home, respectively. Oh, and anything by Angi Máté. I love her very special voice.

4. Double shot of espresso: Name a book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

The Martian! I loved it! (Read more about it here.)

5. Starbucks: Name a book you see everywhere.

The girl on the Train – I once saw it in the hands of a girl on the train. Yep.

6. That hipster coffee shop: Give a book by an indie author a shoutout

David Machado: The Shelf Life of Happiness. Read as a Kindle first, and I loved it. The struggles of a Portuguese family and their friends in the wake of the financial crisis. How the fathers’ pride keeps them from effectively helping their families, how the mothers bear all the burden, how the children are lost in a world where even adults don’t seem to be able to get a grip on post-crisis life. And the happiness index. It was unusual and absorbing.

Also, Brunella Gasperini seems to be less known in English-speaking areas. She is one of my absoulte favourite authors, her family chronicles are loved by all my family members. Her autobiography was darker but still very funny and touching.

7. Oops! I accidentally got decaf: Name a book you were expecting more from.

Maybe What Milo Saw by Virginia Macgregor. I loved the original idea, and all the characters. Everyone was complex and very well written. The short chapters, telling the story from four different points of view got me reading well into the small hours more than once, I just couldn’t put it down. Then came the climax… and the book didn’t end. It dragged on for another 30 pages. My excitement and enthusiasm turned into a polite interest. (Read more about this book here.)

And, more recently, Bódog és Szomorilla. It is a children’s book released this year and loved by reviewers on moly.hu. I was both eagerly waiting and postponing reading it. I finally started, and I didn’t like it. At all. One of the main characters irritated me so much I just couldn’t wait to finish reading so I don’t have to put up with him anymore.

8. The perfect blend: Name a book or series that was both bitter and sweet but ultimately satisfying.

The Elephant Whisperer! It is not even fiction, maybe that’s why it is so perfect. I’m not an animal enthusiast but I do like them (the animals). I honestly don’t remember the last time a book touched my heart so deeply. It is very well written, extremely exciting, powerful and emotional. A work of fiction couldn’t have been more engaging.

And another brand new favourite: Library Lion by Michelle Knudsen. It is just wonderful! Both story and illustration are just perfectly beautiful. It is heartwarming, sweet and funny. I’m simply in love with these two books!


What about you? Please drop a link in the comments if you complete(d) the tag, too!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Italophilia

Stories of My Italian Journey & More..!

About Words - Cambridge Dictionaries Online blog

Commenting on developments in the English language

intentionally_blonde

on discovering the world and sharing her best tips with you

hitchhikingthe7seas

Hitchhiking sailing boats around the world. Live bog! -- Hajóstoppal egy föld körüli úton. Élő blog!

Exploding Steamboats

The Official Chris Pontius Blog

The Book Crunch

A blog for book fanatics!

MűvészTér

Művésztér Egyesület honlapja

International Book Giving Day 2017

Give a book on Valentine's Day

kultúrlény

Kultúra minden mennyiségben

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Olvass bele

A KULTÚRAKIRAKAT

Brent Libraries Blog

Welcome to the Brent Libraries Blog. Here you can read book reviews, find out about Brent reading group and events and much much more!

bookowly

bookowly

AnitaKomuves

International reporting, data journalism, digital media

Bébi, pszichó & más

Életképek, ötletek, megfigyelések

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

Raising My Rainbow

Adventures in raising a fabulously gender creative son.

