Posted by: bluelion | July 22, 2016

Day 2: Top 3 awkward moments / 2. nap: A három legkínosabb pillanat

Day 2

Your top 3 funniest/most awkward moments

Man, I really don’t want to relive these. Somehow embarrassing moments came more readily to my mind. (I know, there is some science there, they are very emotionally charged and the amygdala helps to remember them forever so we can avoid being in the same situation ever again – thanks for the explanation that really sticks in my mind, Ruby Wax!)

My most recent ordeal embarrassing moment came in Venezia, Italy, about a week ago. It was like a Becky Bloomwood incident (from the Shopaholic series), when you go “ohnoooooo!”, and then you are glad it wasn’t you. Only, it was me this time. Soooo…

My hubby and my almost-six-year-old went to grab some sandwiches. While waiting, I spotted a souvenir shop. It was very small and had three narrow entrances, side by side. I managed to get my toddler (I know), and the stroller (I knoooow) inside, without any of them doing any damage. But. I had a huge bag with me, with spare clothes for the kids, a whole nappy changing station, drinks, etc. (By the way, it’s a Pink Lining bag, and I love it!) I was concentrating so much on my toddler and the stroller that I managed to push an entire stand of postcards over. They all scattered on the floor. I couldn’t stop saying sorry, while the salesman grunted something and started to put the cards up on the counter. I was putting them back to their slots on the stand. When the floor became finally empty, I wanted to tell the boys where we were, so I popped out on the door that wasn’t jammed by my toddler and the stroller, then lifted her up from the outside and reached for the stroller. I intended to return and buy a lot of unnecessary stuff as compensation for the mess I caused. The guy said, “Madame, please!”, and gesticulated towards the floor. So I went back inside with my daughter and continued to put the cards back to their places from the counter. Luckily, my toddler didn’t want to wander around or throw a tantrum, instead, she helped me putting the cards back. We were almost finished, and a queue started to develop by the counter. Then the guy came over to us and said I didn’t have to do that, it was his job. I stared at him for a moment, then asked, loud and clear, “Then why did you call after me?” No answer. “You just called after me, not to leave!”, I said, all eyes on us. He just repeated, “It is my job, you don’t have to do it.”. So I said the most powerful line that came to mind: “Whatever”. Then left with my head held up high and without pushing over anything else. Of course, I couldn’t find the boys. At this point I was on the verge of crying. As I was trying to strap the little one into the stroller, my son ran up to us. Lesson learned: no souvenir shopping. And at least it wasn’t a display of murano glassware I pushed over.

Oh, good, that was the tough one. Another embarrassing moment I remember was a high school English class, where a spider started its slow but steady descent right above me. I tried to sit on the very edge of my chair to avoid the monster (I hate spiders) but it just followed me and finally landed on my thigh. I must have looked really awful by then, because the teacher asked very sympathetically if I was all right and if I wanted to sit somewhere else. Of course, I did (and now I think my new place was next to my future husband).

The last one is to send you on your way on a more positive note. One of the delivery guys used to arrive while we were still sleeping. It was like Murphy’s law. Whenever we slept in late, he had something to deliver to us. He was apologising though he didn’t do anything wrong. Then one day we were up when he rang the bell. We even joked about it when my then 2-3 year old son blurted out: “Daddy’s still sleeping!” Yes, the delivery guy was laughing, too.

See y’all tomorrow!


2. nap

A három legviccesebb/legkínosabb pillanatod

Jaj, de nem akarom ezeket újra átélni! Valahogy könnyebben jutnak eszembe kínos mint vicces történetek. (Tudom, van rá tudományos magyarázat. Ezek az élmények felfokozott érzelmekkel kapcsolódnak össze, így az amigdala alaposan – és örökre – elraktározza, hogy a jövőben elkerülhessük a hasonló szituációkat. Köszönet a megjegyezhető magyarázatért, Ruby Wax!)

A legutóbbi kálváriám kínos pillanatom Velencében esett meg, körülbelül egy hete. Olyan volt, mint egy Becky Bloomwood bénázás (a Boltkóros sorozatból), amikor a néző/olvasó felszisszen, hogy “jajneeeee!”, aztán örül, hogy nem ő volt a szenvedő alany. Csakhogy ezúttal én voltam az. Szóval… A férjem és a majdnem hatévesem beugrottak egy sarki bárba szendvicsekért. Miközben várakoztunk a Kicsivel, megláttam egy szuvenír boltot. Kicsi volt, három keskeny bejárattal, egymás mellett. Sikerült az egyiken beszenvednem a totyogót (tudom) és a babakcsit is (tudooom), anélkül, hogy bármi kárt okoztak volna. Na de az óriástáska (tartalék ruhával, teljes pelenkázófelszereléssel, innivalóval, stb. Egyébként egy Pink Lining táska, és imádom)! Azzal sikerült egy teljes képeslapállványt leborítanom. Az összes lap kiesett. Nem győztem bocsánatot kérni, az eladó meg csak morgott valamit, és rakta fel a képeslapokat a pultra. Én közben a helyükre pakoltam őket a földről. Amikor végre elfogytak, gondoltam, szólok a fiúknak, hol vagyunk, aztán jól bevásárolok mindenféle fölösleges cuccot, hogy valahogy kárpótoljam őket a felfordulásért, amit okoztam. Kiléptem hát azon az ajtón, amit nem torlaszolt el a Kicsi és a babakocsi, majd kintről felkaptam a totyogót és nyúltam a babakocsiért. A fickó ekkor utánam szólt, miszerint “Madame, please” és rosszallóan mutatott a földre. Visszamentem hát a pulthoz, és onnan is elkezdtem a helyükre pakolni a képeslapokat. Szerencsére a Kicsi nem akart sem megszökni, sem hisztizni. Helyette inkább segített nekem. Már majdnem kész voltunk, amikor odajött az ember, és azt mondta, nem kell visszaraknom, ez az ő feladata. Egy pillanatig csak bámultam rá, aztán szép hangosan megkérdeztem, hogy akkor miért szólt utánam. Nem válaszolt. “Az előbb utánam szólt, hogy ne menjek el!” – ismételtem, miközben minden szem ránk szegeződött. Akkor jutott ugyanis eszébe, hogy ezt nem velem kéne elvégeztetni, amikor már egész csinos kis sor kezdett kialakulni a kasszánál, és érdeklődve nézték, mi történik. “Az én feladatom, nem kell megcsinálnia” – ismételte. Az eszembe jutó leghatásosabb egyszavas mondattal vágtam vissza: “Whatever.” Ezután emelt fővel, és anélkül, hogy bármi mást levertem volna, távoztam. Persze a fiúkat nem találtam sehol. Ekkor már majdnem sírtam. Próbáltam bekötni a Kicsit a babakocsiba, hogy haladjunk, és akkor az Ovis odaszaladt hozzánk. Megtanultam a leckét: csak semmi szuvenír shopping. És legalább nem egy muranói üveges polcot sodortam le.

Huh, túl vagyunk a nehezén. Egy másik kellemetlen helyzetért egészen a gimibe megyünk vissza, ahol egy angol óra közepén erszkedni kezdett fölöttem egy pók. Fogalmam sincs, mi volt az órán, mert azzal voltam elfoglalva, hogy annyira a szék szélére tornázzam magam, hogy ne rajtam landoljon a szörnyeteg (utálom a pókokat). Minden mutatvány hiába, a combomra érkezett. Elég rémesen nézhettem ki addigra, mert a tanár rém együttérzőn kérdezte, hogy jól vagyok-e, és szeretnék-e máshova ülni. Igen, boldogan ültem át (most úgy rémlik, hogy pont a leendő férjem mellé).

Végül, hogy kissé vidámabban engedjelek útnak benneteket, egy futáros sztori következik. Az egyik kiszállító mindig akkor jött, amikor valamiért sokáig aludtunk. Folyton elnézést kért, hogy felébresztett, pedig igazán nem tehetett róla. Egyszer aztán már fent voltunk, mikor jött. El is viccelődtünk kicsit rajta, amikor az akkor 2-3 év körüli kisfiam kibökte: “Apa még alszik!”. Igen, a futárból is kirobbant a röhögés.

Holnap találkozunk!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Italophilia

Stories of My Italian Journey & More..!

About Words - Cambridge Dictionaries Online blog

Commenting on developments in the English language

intentionally_blonde

on discovering the world and sharing her best tips with you

hitchhikingthe7seas

Hitchhiking sailing boats around the world. Live bog! -- Hajóstoppal egy föld körüli úton. Élő blog!

Exploding Steamboats

The Official Chris Pontius Blog

The Book Crunch

A blog for book fanatics!

MűvészTér

Művésztér Egyesület honlapja

International Book Giving Day 2017

Give a book on Valentine's Day

kultúrlény

Kultúra minden mennyiségben

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Olvass bele

A KULTÚRAKIRAKAT

Brent Libraries Blog

Welcome to the Brent Libraries Blog. Here you can read book reviews, find out about Brent reading group and events and much much more!

bookowly

bookowly

AnitaKomuves

International reporting, data journalism, digital media

Bébi, pszichó & más

Életképek, ötletek, megfigyelések

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

Raising My Rainbow

Adventures in raising a fabulously gender creative son.

