Posted by: bluelion | November 26, 2015

8+1 (Christmas) gifts for the book lover

image

With only four weeks till Christmas Eve, it’s time to explore some gift ideas for the book lover in your life. I consider this last minute shopping, so let’s get beyond bookmarks and bookends (especially if they have closed shelves). Those can still be great gifts if they meet original design. However, here are some other ideas:

1. Reading is sexy T-shirt (because it is)

How about the T-shirt worn by Sophie Kinsella in this Facebook post? You can get them here.

Or you can order tank tops (fuchsia, please) or canvas shopper bags in Hungary here.

2. Fun

Literary gifts – oh, I love this site! See the picture above for some of the hillarious gifts they offer!

Magnetic poetry, for instance. Words on magnets to form whatever text you like. Poetry, even.
How fun is that? I love it! It also has special editions like: book lover, Shakespeare, haiku, sci-fi, etc.

This webshop is the best kind of crazy. You can buy Jane Austen Temporary Tattoos (aaah!), Poe Cookie Cutter (Eat the cookies Nevermore), and even cuddly toys, in the shape of Virginia Woolf, for example. Okay, now I’m crying with laughter.

3. Jewellery

They are also selling extraordinary jewellery, like the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Brooch made from actual pages of worn copies of the book, in the shape of a whale, what else. Alice in Wonderland has great accessories: typewriter earrings, Down the Rabbit Hole Necklace (this is my favourite, with the rabbit at the bottom, Alice halfway down the necklace) and of course an Alice in Wonderland brooch.

4. Slanket

or Snuggie or anything similar, though I read a comparison here and it said Slanket was the best. You know, the blanket with sleeves so that your arms won’t freeze while holding the book. Actually, I got one last Christmas and I love it!

Add a good cup of tea, mmmh. You can make a gift basket with a cute/big/unique/whatever-they-like mug and a pack of their favourite tea. Or hot chocolate. (Mmm. I think I have to make whipped cream now.)

5. Book journal
In addition to Let’s read... posts here, I like to keep an offline record of what I read, too. My lovely book journal is from BusyB. It has some features I don’t use though, as I don’t attend book clubs and I rarely lend any hard copies (they tend never to return).

6. E-book reader – I love books but I love my Kindle, too. Actually, I prefer having my chic lit in Kindle format. There are other books that look good displayed on a shelf and are nice to look at but in order to let the family sleep while I’m reading comfortably, the Kindle is the best option. I even read with the app Kindle for Android on my phone but that kind of light is said to interfere with your ability, or rather readiness to fall asleep, whereas the actual Kindle doesn’t have a light at all. I have a beautiful cover with built-in light. That’s what I suggest you to buy as an accessory to your device, too. It is not too bulky or heavy, and uses the Kindle as its source of energy.

7. You could give the gift of a year of reading by paying for an annual membership to their local library or for a subscription to the recipient’s favourite periodical or magazine (Yeah, why not? There are a few magazines with actual reading material in them.)

8. And of course… BOOKS!
There are sites where you can make a wishlist for others to see and choose from.

My favourite ones this year, either to give or receive are almost all new releases:

  • Humans of New York – Stories by Brandon Staton, a perfect gift for any HONY-fan, and there are more than 16 million of us, you know.
  • Finding Audrey and Shopaholic to the Rescue, both by Sophie Kinsella, one of my favourites.
  • Secret Garden colouring book for adults by Johanna Basford. This is the newest craze. They even have a gift pack with colour pencils available. It is said to be very meditative. I have a few pages from Marie Claire, I shall definitely try it.
  • The Rabbit Who Wants to Fall Asleep by Carl-Johan Forssén Ehrlin. The bedtime story that claims to get everyone to sleep before it ends. Does anyone know if it works? I can’t wait to find out! The Hungarian version is illustrated by the immensely talented Írisz Agócs. I just love her work. Last Christmas, my younger one got her book Kicsi, nagy, and both my kids love it. You can buy her art on postcards or print on Etsy. My packs of postcards just arrived yesterday. They will be hanged on the wall like on the pictures at her Etsy shop.
  • Fördős Zé a konyhában is for my hubby (you already know about it anyway ;)) as he is a huge fan of Street Kitchen. His weekend cooking sessions are always too long but have unbelievably delicious results.
  • Oroszlánkórus is the first collection of short stories by novelist György Dragomán. Another hot new release of the autumn of 2015.
  • The only book not released this Autumn but two years ago is Here and Now: Letters 2008-2011. It is what the title suggests: the correspondence of none other than Paul Auster and J.M.Coetzee. The English version is on my books to read list.

image

+1. Also, don’t forget the grammar nazis in you’re your life:

Smug coasters and a rude mug to turn their anger into laughter. There are less rude mugs available at The Literary Gift Company, for example. But the grammar nazis, they’re those kinds of people who would prefer the expletives.

It is so easy to buy gifts for us, isn’t it? ;)

Tomorrow is Black Friday! Let’s get shopping!

Responses

  1. […] a könyvmolynál, itt is fontos, hogy tudjuk, mit szeret az illető. Egy könyvfalónak sem biztos, hogy jó […]

    Like

  2. […] a világon a legkönnyebb ugyanis vásárolni, különösen, ha van online kívánságlistájuk. A tavalyi javaslatok idén is élnek, még mindig nagyon jó és vicces ötletek vannak a könyvjelzőn és a […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Italophilia

Stories of My Italian Journey & More..!

About Words - Cambridge Dictionaries Online blog

Commenting on developments in the English language

intentionally_blonde

on discovering the world and sharing her best tips with you

hitchhikingthe7seas

Hitchhiking sailing boats around the world. Live bog! -- Hajóstoppal egy föld körüli úton. Élő blog!

Exploding Steamboats

The Official Chris Pontius Blog

The Book Crunch

A blog for book fanatics!

MűvészTér

Művésztér Egyesület honlapja

International Book Giving Day 2017

Give a book on Valentine's Day

kultúrlény

Kultúra minden mennyiségben

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Olvass bele

A KULTÚRAKIRAKAT

Brent Libraries Blog

Welcome to the Brent Libraries Blog. Here you can read book reviews, find out about Brent reading group and events and much much more!

bookowly

bookowly

AnitaKomuves

International reporting, data journalism, digital media

Bébi, pszichó & más

Életképek, ötletek, megfigyelések

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

Raising My Rainbow

Adventures in raising a fabulously gender creative son.

