Posted by: bluelion | August 31, 2015

Let’s read… a Kinsella classic, or two

Shopaholic to the Rescue by Sophie Kinsella is available for pre-order! It is coming to my kindle on 22 October! I can hardly wait!

(I really don’t understand Amazon’s policy though. How come I can’t order from .co.uk from the EU but from .com only? And why is the kindle price there the double of the kindle price at .co.uk? Why do they want me to pay VAT to the US instead of the UK? It just doesn’t make sense.)

I have read all of the Shopaholic series, but I still have to catch up on the standalone novels, and I haven’t read a single book she’s written under her own name, Madeleine Wickham. Yet. Are they as good as the ones written later?

There has been a Great Summer Readalong of Sophie’s books on Facebook. The last title is Shopaholic Ties the Knot, which was the very first Kinsella-novel I read. I just picked it up from a stack of books in the abandoned foreign language corner of a bookshop. I went home and read it in a day. I find all her books absolute page-turners, the ones below are no exception.

[Warning: SPOILERS ahead]

#12 Sophie Kinsella: The Undomestic Goddess (Bantam Press, 2005)

This is kind of a classic now. The story is of course absolutely foreseeable, but you don’t read these books for jaw-dropping endings. I missed the great showdown with the bad guy (I don’t want to spoil it for you). Isn’t it like you know every detail of what happened in recent books? It felt like there were some details missing here. Also, when Samantha starts to work as a housekeeper and she only learns to cook one dish a weekend, you wonder how she managed to last through the week, with all the cleaning, laundry and other duties as well. I know she paid for services the first few days but what about later?

As for Nathaniel, if the book is ever made into a movie, please let Joe Manganiello play him. At the character’s first appearance, Manganiello came to my mind and didn’t leave throughout the book. I love how you can fall in love with these characters.

About the ending, there isn’t really a choice, is there? At times, it was a bit slow, other times it lacked elaboration. Overall, I loved reading it but it won’t be one of my favourite Kinsella books.

#13 Sophie Kinsella: I’ve Got Your Number (Transworld Publishers, 2012)

The one with all the texting and footnotes. I read it in ebook format and sometimes the tap wouldn’t be registered on the number of the footnote when I wanted to jump back to the text but as a tap to turn the page. This could get a bit frustrating but it was still very enjoyable.

An original idea for the basic situation involving a lost engagement ring and a phone found in a bin. Then the usual girl is crazy in a funny and lovable way, a bit naive but then proves to be smarter and braver than anyone expected. The guy is constantly ‘amused’, intelligent and restrained. Perfect recipe by the way. Don’t get me wrong, I love reading these stories just like many others do as the success of the Shopaholic series also suggests.

It felt like the story ended when there were still a hundred pages left, and now I have to check what happened in those pages. Ah, yes. I liked this couple a lot, too. I really liked it when the horrible in-laws turned out to be something different. We carry so much hurt without ever discussing whether it was only in our heads, don’t we?

Responses

  1. I haven’t read Undomestic Goddess, I’ll look out for it.

    Zoe

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was still very likable, and I couldn’t put it down, as is the case with all Kinsella’s books! A bit more erotic, too. How did I miss to point that out?

      Shopaholic to the Rescue arrived at my kindle after midnight and I’m already at chapter eight, I love it so far! :) (if I didn’t have to look after two small children, I’d have finished by now ;))

      Like

  2. […] I loved it, I loved it, I loved it! This is what I call exciting – you know how I found Undomestic Goddess kind of foreseeable. With all the twists and turns, this one had me on the edge of my seat. […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Italophilia

Stories of My Italian Journey & More..!

About Words - Cambridge Dictionaries Online blog

Commenting on developments in the English language

intentionally_blonde

on discovering the world and sharing her best tips with you

hitchhikingthe7seas

Hitchhiking sailing boats around the world. Live bog! -- Hajóstoppal egy föld körüli úton. Élő blog!

Exploding Steamboats

The Official Chris Pontius Blog

The Book Crunch

A blog for book fanatics!

MűvészTér

Művésztér Egyesület honlapja

International Book Giving Day 2018

#bookgivingday 14th February 2018

kultúrlény

Kultúra minden mennyiségben

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Olvass bele

A KULTÚRAKIRAKAT

Brent Libraries Blog

Welcome to the Brent Libraries Blog. Here you can read book reviews, find out about Brent reading group and events and much much more!

bookowly

bookowly

AnitaKomuves

International reporting, data journalism, digital media

Bébi, pszichó & más

Életképek, ötletek, megfigyelések

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

Raising My Rainbow

Adventures in raising a fabulously gender creative son.

